Przemysław Marciński Wenge Custom FP

Przemysław Marciński is a talented polish artisan who offers handcrafted fountain pens. I’ve already reviewed two of his pens:

  1. Black Oak Cigar
  2. Blue Swirl
  3. Perun

I encourage you to check these reviews as I add some details about Przemek in them. I don’t want to paste the same beginning in every review, so let’s get to the point right now.

Some time ago Przemek lent me three of his pens to play with. I like all of them and it would be difficult for me to tell you which one is my favorite. Pressed hard I would, probably, choose the one I’m jusr going to rewiev.

pmwood_9.jpg

pmwood_7.jpg

pmwood_8.jpg

The pen is made from Wenge, a dark colored wood, that is the product of Millettia laurentii (African rosewood).  The wood’s distinctive color is standardized as a “wenge” color in many systems. It’s popular among musical instruments turners. I like the color and I love the feel of this wood in my hand.

Design is simple and classic. Nody and cap are made from wood. There’s a silver ring and a clip on the cap. The wood was oiled many times in order to maintain natural color and facture.

Construction, feel and quality

pmwood_13.jpg

pmwood_2.jpg

pmwood_12.jpg

pmwood_6.jpg

I like this pen as it looks appealing to me designwise but also is pretty reliable in most situations. The cap screws smoothly onto ebonite threads. I remember that in one of interviews Brian Grey mentioned that doing good threads was the hardest skill to master in this craft. I suspect that before one is able to create well working threads some gazillion of acrylic blocks is destroyed. Anyway Przemek mastered this skill and the threads work fine.

The pen is rather light. As I enjoy heavier pens I was surprised by how light it actually felt in the hand. It can be capped.

The nib

pmwood_11.jpg

pmwood_10.jpg

The pen can be bought with JoWo nib in all sizes and types. At the moment it has steel broad nib that is very smooth and wet. The nib and feed work well and supply satisfying level of ink. The nib can be customized.

Filling system

Schmidt converter or cartridges (both long and short). Nothing exciting here.

Summary

This pen is handmade and the craftsmanship is top notch. As most other handmade fountain pens it isn’t cheap (>100$). While I really enjoy this pen I do realise you can easily buy great fountain pens for less (Lamy 2000, Pilot Custom Heritage 92 etc). Personally I enjoy unique things and artisanal products. They are not, however, for every one. I perfectly understand why someone would rather choose Pelikan or Waterman or Platinum or Pilot or other fountain pen.

On the other hand if you collect custom made fountain pens and appreciate quality I would encourage you to take a look at Przemek creations. Maybe one of them will appeal to you or maybe you have some crazy idea and look for someone who would make it real?

One thought on “Przemysław Marciński Wenge Custom FP

Leave a Reply

