Przemysław Marciński Custom Wooden Cigar Fountain Pen

KWZ inks became recognizable brand in fountain pen ink niche market. I’m glad this is the case as not only Mr and MS KWZ are nice people, they also know what they’re doing and they’re doing it very well. I enjoy their inks and I must admit it’s nice to have polish product appreciated worldwide. We may not have car industry but we make good inks :)

Apart from having one ink maker in the country, we also have one custom fountain pen maker – Przemysław Marciński. I’ve discovered his website few years ago and was very impressed with fountain pens he presented. I suspected he was some kind of Mage

 

Eo9iNS.jpg

 

Imagine my surprise when I meet him during Polish Pen Show and he didn’t wear purple robes or pointed hat. I was disappointed. But then we started speaking and I discovered he was trully pasionnate about pens and artisanal work. Also, looking at his first creations I had to admit the guy was skilled. Quite a lot of people were drawn toward the table on which he displayed few acrylic pens, all well made and colorful.

Some time ago Przemek lent me three of his pens to play with. I’ll start with Wooden Cigar (it’s not official name but it looks like one).

pmcigar_4.jpg

pmcigar_2

This pen boasts a simple, clean design. The pen is clipless and made of black oak wood. Whe wood was oiled numerous time in order to preserve it. When you uncap the pen you’ll see an ebonite section.

Construction, feel and quality

pmcigar_8

pmcigar_6

pmcigar_5

I like this pen as it looks appealing to me designwise but also is pretty reliable in most situations. Both halves of the pen are of equal length.The cap screws smoothly onto ebonite threads. I remember that in one of interviews Brian Grey mentioned that doing good threads was the hardest skill to master in this craft. I suspect that before one is able to create well working threads some gazillion of acrylic blocks is destroyed. Anyway Przemek mastered this skill and the threads work fine.

It’s worth noting that there’s no trace of empty space between wood and ebonite inserts – they’re done masterfully.

The pen is rather light. As I enjoy heavier pens I was surprised by how light it actually felt in the hand. It can’t be really capped. I don’t mind as I never cap pens but some poeple do and they won’t be happy.

The nib

pmcigar_9

pmwood_10.jpg

pmcigar_pismo

Well, the nib on this one is oxidized JoWo EF nib. It’s engraved with PM logo. Personally I don’t rhink it’s really nice but I’m not biggest fan of engraved nibs. You can have this pen with any nib you want. The one I received is too dry for my taste but what would you expect from JoWo EF nib?

Filling system

pmcigar_1

Schmidt converter or cartridges (both long and short). Nothing exciting here.

 

Summary

This pen is handmade and the craftsmanship is top notch. As most other handmade fountain pens it isn’t cheap (>100$). While I really enjoy this pen I do realise you can easily buy great fountain pens for less (Lamy 2000, Pilot Custom Heritage 92 etc). Personally I enjoy unique things and artisanal products. They are not, however, for every one. I perfectly understand why someone would rather choose Pelikan or Waterman or Platinum or Pilot or other fountain pen.

On the other hand if you collect custom made fountain pens and appreciate quality I would encourage you to take a look at Przemek creations. Maybe one of them will appeal to you or maybe you have some crazy idea and look for someone who would make it real?

4 thoughts on “Przemysław Marciński Custom Wooden Cigar Fountain Pen

Leave a Reply

