Lamy Petrol 2017 LE ink

Lamy doesn’t need introduction on this board. However as I enjoy writing introductions, here we go. Lamy was created by Josef Lamy who was a German export and branch manager for Parker until 1930, when Parker left the German market due to unsuccessful sales of its Duofold.

WLiktK.jpg

e0y9bn.jpg

 

Lamy started his own company by acquiring the pen manufacturer Orthos Füllfederhalter-Fabrik producing celluloid pens. For quite few years they were selling conservative looking pens stylised after Pelinan and Montblanc pens.

However in 1966 they invited industrial designer Gerd A. Müller to create their new flagship product – Lamy 2000, a classic Bauhaus-inspired design that has remained in production ever since 1966 with no significant change. This pen set the tone for all Lamys to come: forward-looking, innovative design, excellent quality and writing performance. Lamy 2000 is one of my all – time favourite pens. With time I even came to like Lamy Al-Star that looked like an ugly duckling for me when I first saw it.

Basically I love their pens. However I wasn’t so fond of their inks. They’re not bad, they’re sold in practical and functional bottle yet the colors really aren’t mesmerizing. ANyway the inks are sold in bottle that provides a roll of blotter tape used to clean the pen after filling, or to blot writing. It is specially shaped with a wide neck and a basin to collect ink to aid filling when close to empty.

o3GrpD.jpg

http://miestilografi…t=lamy-tinteros

They can also be purchased in cartridges.

It seems that lately Lamy came to conclusion they can make money on special edition inks that are introduced together with limited edition Al-Stars and Safaris. That’s good, especially that new colors (Copper Orange and Neon Lime) stand out from their rather conservative and – let’s face it – boring ink line-up.

I got only a pack of cartridges not because I didn’t want a bottle. It seems Lamy didn’t manage to produce enouigh bottles to fulfill global demand. Again. From what I know they promised polish wholesalers the inks in bottles would come but they haven’t. In theory the bottles should arrive in may. Time will tell.

Then, last year, they’ve made something magical. Lamy Dark Lilac was and is a real stunner. It’s one my all time favorite inks. This year’s expectation were high. Is Lamy Petrol equally interesting?

Let’s find out.

I got only a pack of cartridges not because I didn’t want a bottle. It seems Lamy didn’t manage to produce enouigh bottles to fulfill global demand. Again. From what I know they promised polish wholesalers the inks in bottles would come but they haven’t. In theory the bottles should arrive in may. Time will tell. My reflexion is as follows:

Lamy should think more about their customers in Europe and allow them to get bottles at least from few online retailers. The way things are at the moment they probably have willingness to satisfy their customers but as usualluy when it comes to prioritize them Europe is last to think about. It’s disappointing. I love the brand but I have impression they just don’t care.

Petrol is new addition to Lamy LE inks line. As it’s LE ink you need to decide fast whether you like it or not because once it’s gone, it’s gone. It’s as simple as that.

Petrol can be described in a general way as a member of teals family. It’s not my usual color range but I don’t loathe these hues. Sometimes I use Rohrer & Klingner Verdigris and I enjoy this ink. Not on every day basis, mind you, but once in a month I tend to write with it.

This color is saturated and quite deep, the ink flows nicely but not as well as Dark Lilac. I feel Dark Lilac lubricates the nib more and is, basically, superior ink. On the other hand it’s among my three top inks ever made so I’m biased.

It’s wet ink, probably not as wet as KWZI Northern Twilight but if you like free-flowing inks, it shouldn’t disappoint you. I should try it in a very dry pen but I don’t have one at the moment. Level of saturation is satisfying but not crazily intense or overhelming. There’s some shading – I guess that in a right pen it can be uite intense. I haven’t observed any feathering even on Moleskine (a synonyme of crappy paper). Some bleedthrough was experienced only on Moleskine (crappy paper).

Drying time is reasonable (15-20 secs on Rhodia and alikes).

Some people may have issue with lack of full water resistance but for me water resistance isn’t most important thing when it comes to choosing inks. Whether it fades or not, I’ll know in half a year.

PS: I really would love to see LE Al-Star / Safari pen + ink in following colors: khaki, navy blue, annatto, green tea, marsala (yes, it’s passe now, but who cares?), lentil sprout, ina-ho alike. So if any of you guys have influential friends in Lamy, or better is a child or wife/husband/lover of Lamy management please influence them :)

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Software ID

Color range

Maruman, Lamy Safari, medium nib

Leuchtturm 1917, Lamy Safari, medium nib

Moleskine, Lamy Al-Star, medium nib

Bleedthrough on Moleskine

Oxford, Hero 9028, stub 1,5

Copy paper, Hero 5028, stub 1,5

Water Resistance

Comparison

As seen on the scan it’s definitely greener than Verdigris or Northern Twilight. I don’t have other inks in this hue range at the moment so I won’t be able to compare other teals to it.

5 thoughts on “Lamy Petrol 2017 LE ink

  1. I’ve always been a Parker and Lamy fan. Interesting to read that that connection lead to the birth of the Lamy brand.
    I was curious to see what hue they choose to represent a “petrol” color. A little bit too much green in it for my taste but not at all bad. Too bad that there are the same issues with availability almost every time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, it’s like they just don’t learn. Every year they repeat the same mistakes. It’s sad and disturbing and makes you ask yourself if they treat Lamy brand fans (and I still consider myself one despite significant effort Lamy makes to unmake me their fan) seriously.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this may be just how Lamy releases the inks. Last year, Dark Lilac ink was available in cartridges at the same time the pen came out, but was not available in bottles until the very beginning of May (in the US). I remember this because I was able to buy the cartridges with the pen, but we first saw the bottle at the Chicago Pen Show, where Lisa Vanness was kind enough to add Dark Lilac ink to our Ink Testing Station. The bottles had just arrived, and she brought them to our show (and sold out). So far, Petrol seems to have the same timing (cartridges right away, bottles soon after).

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I enjoyed your review and didn’t know the history of Lamy or the Parker connection. As for the ink, it is quite an unusual colour to stand out from the crowd and it looks nice in your writing samples.

    Like

Leave a Reply

