Frosting of Arashiyama – Kyo-iro ink

To be honest I don’t know much about the company. Some time ago Algester posted topic about Tag Kyoto branch inks. The bottles and colors presented on their site looked nice so I’ve decided to try some of these inks. I’ve managed to buy two on Rakuten and I’ll review them. The inks are made by or for Takeda Jimuki company and are available in two lines: Kyo No Oto and Kyo-Iro. Kyo no Oto inks are said to be traditional japanese colors that has been used since heian era (roughly 1000 years ago),and expressing a tinges that have been nurtured in long history and profound culture for long time.

Kyonooto inks are:

  1. Aonibi
  2. Azukiiro (new ink)
  3. Imayouiro
  4. Kokeiro
  5. Nurebairo
  6. Yamabukiiro

Kyo-iro inks are:

  1. Cherry Blossom of Keage
  2. Flaming Red of Fushimi
  3. Frosting of Arashiyama (new ink)
  4. Moonlight of Higashiyama
  5. Soft Snow of Ohara
  6. Stone Road of Gion

As soon as I discovered that two new inks were produced I ordered them. Sadly the package went missing. When I lost hope that I would ever receive it, it appeared suddenly and from nowhere after almost three months of delay. Crazy.

Anyway as some of you may know I’ve become huge fan of these two line opf inks. The colors aren’t generic. We’ve seen most of them elsewhere but they offer some unexpected twist I enjoy a lot. I even like their black ink – Nurebairo (it’s one of three black inks I have at home, the other two being Octopus Schwarz and J. Herbin Perle Noire). I was really curious about new colors. I hope that some of you were interested in them as well because there’ll be plenty of photos.

Frosting of Arashiyama can be described as rusty orange, although a lot depends on the pen you use (check writing samples on Rhodia). Arashiyama (Storm Mountain) is a district on the western outskirts of Kyoto, Japan.

In wet pens this ink is a joy to use, in drier ones it doesn’t feel prarticularly thrilling 🙂 Drying time is reasonable and I haven’t observed any feathering or bleedthrough. In dry Platinum Plaisir 0.5 mm nib the line is dry and lacks lubrication, in Kaweco Sport turned to eyedropper it becomes wet orange-brown ink that flows smoothly and looks very nice.

It has no water resistance.

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Software ID

Color range

Tomoe River, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, B

Rhodia, Kaweco Classic Sport broad nib and Platinum Plaisir 0.5 mm nib.

CIAK, Kaweco Classic Sport broad nib + Platinum Plaisir 0.5 mm

Leave a Reply

