Azukiiro – Kyonooto

To be honest I don’t know much about the company. Some time ago Algester posted topic about Tag Kyoto branch inks. The bottles and colors presented on their site looked nice so I’ve decided to try some of these inks. I’ve managed to buy two on Rakuten and I’ll review them. The inks are made by or for Takeda Jimuki company and are available in two lines: Kyo No Oto and Kyo-Iro. Kyo no Oto inks are said to be traditional japanese colors that has been used since heian era (roughly 1000 years ago),and expressing a tinges that have been nurtured in long history and profound culture for long time.

Kyonooto inks are:

  1. Aonibi
  2. Azukiiro (new ink)
  3. Imayouiro
  4. Kokeiro
  5. Nurebairo
  6. Yamabukiiro

Kyo-iro inks are:

  1. Cherry Blossom of Keage
  2. Flaming Red of Fushimi
  3. Frosting of Arashiyama (new ink)
  4. Moonlight of Higashiyama
  5. Soft Snow of Ohara
  6. Stone Road of Gion

As soon as I discovered that two new inks were produced I ordered them. Sadly the package went missing. When I lost hope that I would ever receive it, it appeared suddenly and from nowhere after almost three months of delay. Crazy.

Anyway as some of you may know I’ve become huge fan of these two line opf inks. The colors aren’t generic. We’ve seen most of them elsewhere but they offer some unexpected twist I enjoy a lot. I even like their black ink – Nurebairo (it’s one of three black inks I have at home, the other two being Octopus Schwarz and J. Herbin Perle Noire). I was really curious about new colors. I hope that some of you were interested in them as well because there’ll be plenty of photos.

Azukiiro can be described as nice mix of red, purple and, maybe, reddish brown in places. It seems azuki-iro is one of traditional japanese colors:

The ink doesn’t look similar to what you see above. As I don’t know japanese language I would gladly ask some of our japanese friends to help with the word meaning but I would venture to say the color might be reminiscent of Adzuki beans color (but I may be wrong). When you enter japanese name of the ink 小豆色  in google you’ll receive a lot of pictures with hues between red, purplish red and others. Check here.

In wet pens the color may be close to black in some places and it looks reach. I enjoy it and I would say that characterictics are mostly good. No feathering, no bleedthrough, no cloggiing, skipping, hard-starts.

But there’s an issue – this ink takes ages to dry. Not in all pens and not on all papers but when I used it in Yard-o-Led medium nib on Tomoe it took 70 seconds to dry. It’s not good choice for lefties.

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Software ID

Color range

Tomoe River, Yard-o-Led Viceroy, medium nib

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, B

Rhodia, Yard-o-Led Videroy, Medium

Fantastic Paper, Yard-o-Led Videroy, Medium

CIAK, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

Oxford Optic, Yard-o-Led Viceroy, medium nib

fpn_1484508959__azukiiro_viceroy_1.jpg

fpn_1484508987__azukiiro_viceroy_2.jpg

fpn_1484509024__azukiiro_viceroy_1_line_

fpn_1484509040__azukiiro_viceroy_1_rever

Water resistance
Leave a Reply

