Hypnotic Turquoise – Caran d’Ache Chromatics Ink

When I got sick few many years ago (virus called pens and inks), I started picking different inks. I was amazed by Caran d’Ache Color of the Earth series. The inks were packed in nice and heavy glass bottles and the colors were, mostly,  unique.

The thing is the inks were discontinued before I had a chance to try all of them. I was disappointed to hear Colors of the earth were replaced by Chromatics.

OK, I’ll admit that the bottle is cool, colors seem nice, so what’s the problem?

One – no more Amazon and Grand Canyon! I can get over Amazon, with time I started to prefer murkier greens, but Grand Canyon was in my top 5 of browns.

Two – the price. OK, Chromatics bottles are 50 ml compared to Colors of the Earth 30 ml bottles yet the price per ml increased by 25,7 % (I compare prices in Poland : 55 PLN / 30 ml vs 115 PLN / 50 ml).

Are they really worth it? Well, I like the way Caran d’Ache market their products, I like the bottle and the brand. Let’s take a closer look at the content, not the packaging and marketing (where CdA excels).

  1. Cosmic Black
  2. Delicate Green
  3. Divine Pink
  4. Electric Orange
  5. Hypnotic Turquoise
  6. Idyllic Blue
  7. Infinite – Grey
  8. Infra Red
  9. Magnetic Blue
  10. Organic Brown
  11. Ultra Violet
  12. Vibrant Green

Hypnotic Turquoise is moderately saturated turquoise. It shades, it has no water resistance, drying times are rather long. The flow is good. What do I think about it? Stunning bottle, average content. This turquoise doesn’t stand out in any way among cheaper turquoises. I would say that Bleu Pervenche that’s 70 % cheaper offers better lubrication. Also I don’t like the color but I believe there’s no bright turquoise that I would really like. So it’s not a big deal.

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Software ID

Color range

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

Oxford, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

Leave a Reply

