Montblack Ultrablack LE ink

I believe Montblanc company doesn’t need introduction here. Each year Montblanc offers few LE inks. Their evil-minded marketing team creates interesting colors that soon become unavailable. Not all of them are great but almost all of LE ink become sought after after they’re gone and are sold for outrageous prices.

Personally I have mixed feelings about idea of LE inks but I enjoy some of them a lot. Montblanc LE red inks were great (Winter Glow can easily concur with Maruzen Nihombashi Akane; it’s not the same and but still amazing). As I dislike blacks in general, I didn’t expect to enjoy Ultrablack. And guess what? I don’t.

The ink comes in nice cardboard box. Inside the box is 30 ml glass bottle:

Ultrablack isn’t really black. It’s more dark navy-grey or something like this. It’s far from blackest black. The ink behaves well and is fairly wet. It doesn’t feather. I haven’t experienced any blledthrough. All in all if you enjoy Montblanc inks or you collect them this one may be nice addition to your collection. If however you’re practical person who looks for well writing black ink you’ll easily find cheaper alternatives that are simply better (better lubrication, more blackness, better water resistance). This black is simply decent.

You’ll find a lot of useful informations in Lapis’ review of this ink.

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Chromatography

Software ID

Color range

Rhodia, Kaweco Sport Classic, medium

Leuchtturm1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, medium nib

Linen, Kaweco Sport Classic, M

Water resistance

5 thoughts on “Montblack Ultrablack LE ink

  1. Hey, I like it as a very dark blue black, as shown in your excellent photos. I don’t think I’ll be buying it, but this is the first review that makes me consider it. 🙂

    I agree with Pentermezzo that a lot of the European pen maker’s inks seem extremely similar. Keeping in mind that ink recipes change over time, I did some comparisons last year on Fountain Pen Follies that included the regular Montblanc Mystery Black, Seitz-Kreuznach black and Stipula’s black. Also, it’s not just the blacks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

