Lamy Studio fountain pen review

There was a time when I loathed most of Lamy’s fountain pens designs. I considered Lamy Safari ugliest pen ever created, Lamy Joy didn’t make me smile.

It’s no longer the case as, in some unexplicable way, Lamy Al-Star became one of my favourite pens and I started to enjoy Lamy Safari quite a bit. I would even risk to claim that Lamy bacame my favourite brand. But let’s not go ahead. The thing is even then there was one Lamy pen I considered more than great looking.

Lamy Studio

I always enjoyed this design and I still think it’s great and fairly unique. The pen was designed by Hannes Wettstein. Let me share my experience with the pen with you.

Lamy Studio comes in a nicely designed cardboard box, that is nice and elegant. It can be bought in few finishes but I find blue one most appealing. The pen itself looks sleek – torpedo shaped, with blue-lacquered barrel with slight tapers on each end with a chrome clip, grip, and end caps. The grip is super glossy and it collects fingerprints too easily.

There’s also the clip. Yes, the clip. How to describe it without using wow too much? The paddle design is unique even among Lamy’s other offerings. The propeller-shaped clip accents the pen’s shapely form. It turns in on itself and is more reminiscent of a modern piece of sculpture than a conventional pen clip. To me it’s this element that makes Lamy Studio a complete eyecatcher which pleasantly does not fit into any rigid design category.

yDm6Na.jpg

v8w0c4.jpg

O8gbsj.jpg

The  blue coating has a nice, textured feel to it, but in order to write we need to uncap the pen and take section between fingers. The diameter of the section is perfect for me but I believe it would be better if it didn’t taper towards the nib. Taper on chrome, hmm, result can be only one. The section is slippery. Sure, glossy finish serves well the design and aesthetic intentions but it makes this pen unpleasant during longer writing sections. Finding good grip may be an issue. On the other hand Lamy Studio comes in several other finishes and materials with different grips. I believe one of them sports some kind of rubber(?) grip that is quite comfortable.

The fit & finish are very good, but not perfect, especiallty if you tend to cap the pen. Snap-on cap attaches via the tiny trim rings on the grip and barrel of the pen. It tends to rotate instead of staying in place.

fPcUyr.jpg

wv8cxU.jpg

sM69Gz.jpg

Filling System

fYKy0y.jpg

This is a cartridge convertor pen like most of the rest of Lamy’s offerings. It uses the same proprietary cartridge as other Lamy’s but the convertor is the LZ26 for this one instead of the LZ24 used with the Safari’s and Al-Star’s.

Dimensions

3Xi5lM.jpg

Closed: 140 mm

Open: 128 mm

Weight: 30 g

Nib

yM0u9B.jpg

YebnvC.jpg

SWRDzY.jpg

YTMfhQ.jpg

IIMUaV.jpg

9Hbnse.jpg

vlIXhp.jpg

I mostly used this pen with 1,1 italic nib. It’s not bad but can’t compare with TWSBI 1,1 whicg is much wetter and pleasant in every day use.

TaNO5C.jpg

I won’t write a lot about the nib because you can easily fit most of Lamy nibs to this one. And that’s a serious advantage.

Summary

I still think Lamy Studio is Lamy’s nicest pen, sadly, due to slippery section it’s also the one I practically don’t use. I’m huge fan of metal section but this one just doesn’t work for me.

Overall the pen is well priced and well constructed and I would recommend it to everyone but only after they verified whether the section works for them.

5 thoughts on “Lamy Studio fountain pen review

  1. I like the design too, but my hand sweats just when I look at that section. The plain steel version has a rubbery grip. But I don’t like it enough to buy two pens and exchange sections.

    That really is a nice blue, though!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. i owned one of these once. in matte black finish. such a stunning looking pen. unfortunately the metal grip section didn’t agree with my hand. it’s slightly heavier than my liking, and the fact that the grip section is made of metal. i got sweaty fingers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

