Sheaffer Targa Garnet Red Ronce

I wouldn’t call myself vintage pens heavy user. I mostly spend my disposable income on modern ones. There are however exceptions. Pens with inlaid nibs are calling my name. As it happens Sheaffer produced quite a lot of them. Let’s look at one of them.

Sheaffer Targa was named after the italian endurance sports car race – Targa Florio –  and introduced in 1976. It became one of Sheaffer’s best-selling pens. In the beginning Sheaffer wanted to name it Genesis but just before pen launch, the name was changed. Some of people started to wonder whether the sales in the middle east wouldn’t be compromised because of the name Genesis.

Anyway throughout the years Targa appeared in approximately eighty (!) finishes. And that makes from this pen great theme forcollections.The pen was offered in two versions: Classic and Slimline (sometimes called “Lady Targa” or “Slim Targa”).

fpn_1474197135__targa3.jpg

fpn_1474197271__targa5.jpg

I have two Targas. Garnet red ronce laque finish (1082) was offered between 1989 and 1996. It displays 23 carat gold electroplated trim and is fitted with a 14 carat solid gold nib. The finish is elegant and has some depth that’s said to be a result of being individually hand lacquered fourteen times and polished, also by hand. While I usually dislike GT pens, I must admit that this combination of golden accents and nice garnet color works fine for me. I enjoy the way this pen looks and I love the way it writes.

fpn_1474197425__targa4.jpg

fpn_1474197460__targa8.jpg

fpn_1474197487__targa2.jpg

When we look at it from distance and the pen is capped, the design can be described as understated – flat top and bottom,  slight taper in the barrel. Nothing new. The materials are nice and offer good quality. When the pen is uncapped magic happens – it just looks right. Inlaid nib gives this pen a lot of character and makes it unique. Also the pen  feels very nice in hand and it doesn’t feel top heavy when posted. Personally I never post pens but I know some people do it, so if for whatever strange reason you post your pen be assured this one is well balanced.

Nib 

fpn_1474197300__targa7.jpg

fpn_1474131437__skiesofblue_k_1.jpg

I love inlad and inset nibs. I can’r help it. Most of them look stunning to my eyes. Sheaffer Targa 14ct inlaid nib not only looks great, it performs great as well. It glides across the paper and while it isn’t very wet, the line is saturated and satisfying even for me (B and BB nibs are my go-to choices). Simply put – it’s fantastic nib, one of the best I’ve tried so far. Not the best but still it’s one of the nibs I enjoy a lot.

Filling system

fpn_1474197368__targa6.jpg

Sheaffer Targa was equipped with an aero-metric sack (interchangeable with Sheaffer cartridges). I’ve lost my sack but I use international cartridge in this pen and everything works fine.

Dimensions

Targa is made from a brass tube but it doesn’t feel particularly heavy – it has, nice and solid feel to it.

Weight of the pen – 25 g

Length (capped) – 145 mm

Length (uncapped) – 135 mm

Diameter – 11 mm

Summary

fpn_1474197585__targa1.jpg

 

Well, there must be a reason why this model was offered for so long and it bacame so popular. It was produced for twelve years and during this time Sheaffer created a lot of variants of this pen that can create stunning collection. Personally I consider this pen as a great every day pen. It’s elegant, well made and performs nicely. Of course as it’s no longer produced it’s not always easy or cheap to get the finish you like most. On the other hand there’s still quite a lot of Targas on the market, some of them NOS. I believe that this model should have its place in fountain pen Pantheon.

2 thoughts on “Sheaffer Targa Garnet Red Ronce

  1. In 1978, I received a Targa for my 14th birthday. I hated it-so 70s looking, like it was made by Pierre Cardin. I wanted a Pelikan like my grandfather had. Plus the nib was extra fine, which I couldn’t stand. It went into the box and stayed there.

    Then about six years ago, when I turned back to fountain pens, I took it out and realized what an excellent pen it was. Perfect size and balance, and of course the magic inlaid nib. I found out that Sheaffer still had spare nibs at the repair centre in Iowa, and bought a beautiful left oblique. Now it is in constant rotation. I would never part with it for sentimental reasons, but now it has a nib that I really enjoy using. How is this pen made of brass and so beautifully balanced, yet Chinese pens made from brass feel like weapons?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

