Blue / black – Cross

A.T. Cross Company was founded in 1846 by Richard Cross in Lincoln, Rhode Island. Cross is the oldest manufacturer of quality writing tools in America. Personally I ws never interested in their pens and inks. However yesterday during Pen Hub in Poland I had a chance to fill a pen with their new blue/black ink. As I had only one solid fill it won’t be review, more my impressions after using 1 ml of ink.

New inks come in  2oz (62.5ml) elegant glass body with a custom cap embossed with the new Cross lion logo. The new squared-off corners of the cap makes for easier gripping when opening and closing the bottle. The new bottle looks interesting. Forgive me the quality of pictures but they were taken with smartphone.

What I find interesting is information on the back of the label that the ink is Made in China. I wonder which company makes it for Cross? Anyone has some insights to offer?

New inks are available in six colors:

  1. Black
  2. Blue
  3. Blue/Black
  4. Green
  5. Red
  6. Violet

Blue/Black isn’t nad. When it’s wet it looks almost purple and when it dries it becomes nuanced blue/black. Not most nuanced mind you but still it leans toward purple. I can’t say if the ink behaves well because as I’ve mentioned I had one fill of it (on the other hand my lever-filler Doring takes qiote a lot of ink). The things I observed are as follows: the ink flows well in wet pen, decently in dry pen (Platinum Preppy 0,2). It doesn’t cause bleedthrough but on some papers it may cause feathering (Leuchtturm).

As for the archival properties mentioned on the label, well, after soaking the ink will be still legible but the color will fade.

Drops of ink on kitchen towel

Software ID

Tomoe River, Wahl-Eversharp Doric, M

Leuchtturm 1917, Wahl-Eversharp Doric, M

Oxford, Wahl-Eversharp Doric, M + Platinum Preppy 0.2 mm

One thought on “Blue / black – Cross

Leave a Reply

