London – De Atramentis Places series

De Atramentis fountain pen inks are  hand made in Germany by Dr. Franz-Josef Jansen, and come in a 35ml glass bottle. The company has been producing inks for about 30 years so there is a proven track record here. These inks are said to be hand made – the entire production process is done manually in the manufacturing center. The thing that influence their quality and, sadly, price is the fact that Dr. jansen uses only dyes from well established german companies like BASF.

De Atramentis inks are sold in 35 ml glass bottles. I enjoy the way this bottle look and I find them practical. Some of DA inks come in black glass that’s supposed to protect the ink from light.

I enjoy trying products of smaller companies, especially the ones that creators put a lot of heart and energy in developing their business and products. I believe Dr. Jansen is such a person. He’s developed literally hundreds of inks indifferent categories. I’ve tried just a small quantity of his inks. I’ve enjoyed some and disliked some. It’s normal. I\m still eager to get to know most of DA inks.

De Atramentis inks are grouped into categories like Sstandard inks, Document inks, Black Edition inks. Also on De ATramentis website you can find a lot of topic related inks (places, signs of zodiac, history, business, music, literature etc.). Most of them are renamed standard inks.

So London from Places series (Paris, London, New York) is actually Royal Red.  And here my problem starts as Royal Red isn’t listed anywhere on De Atramentis site. It can’t be find in online shops. I would guess it has to be different color. In the beginning I thought it was Oriental Red but I’m not sure, I don’t have this one.

Let’s assume then it’s Royal Red at least until the moment Mr. Jansen answers my mail (hopefully he will).

London isn’t as wet as Paris but I can’t say it’s dry ink.It’s average. The flow is nice, it didn’t cause any issues in few pens I’ve filed with it. No hard starts, no skipping.

Mmg122 – thank you for sending me sample of this ink.

Ink splash

london_is

Ink on kitchen towel

london_da_rk

Software ID

london_l_3

Midori, Lamy Al-Star, broad nib

london_m_1

london_m_2

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

london_l_1

london_l_2

london_l_4

Lyreco budget 60 mgsm, Senator Windsor, medium nib

london_ox_1

london_ox_2

Oxford Paper, Hero 5028, stub 1,9

london_da_ox

london_da_ox2

Water resistance

london_h2o

Leave a Reply

