Paris (Maroon) – De Atramentis Places ink

De Atramentis fountain pen inks are  hand made in Germany by Dr. Franz-Josef Jansen, and come in a 35ml glass bottle. The company has been producing inks for about 30 years so there is a proven track record here. These inks are said to be hand made – the entire production process is done manually in the manufacturing center. The thing that influence their quality and, sadly, price is the fact that Dr. jansen uses only dyes from well established german companies like BASF.

De Atramentis inks are sold in 35 ml glass bottles. I enjoy the way this bottle look and I find them practical. Some of DA inks come in black glass that’s supposed to protect the ink from light.

I enjoy trying products of smaller companies, especially the ones that creators put a lot of heart and energy in developing their business and products. I believe Dr. Jansen is such a person. He’s developed literally hundreds of inks indifferent categories. I’ve tried just a small quantity of his inks. I’ve enjoyed some and disliked some. It’s normal. I\m still eager to get to know most of DA inks.

De Atramentis inks are grouped into categories like Sstandard inks, Document inks, Black Edition inks. Also on De ATramentis website you can find a lot of topic related inks (places, signs of zodiac, history, business, music, literature etc.). Most of them are renamed standard inks.

So Paris from Places series (Paris, London, New York) is actually Maroon.  It gets more complicated though 🙂 Allow me to use screenprint from De Atramentis Twitter to explain things 🙂

paris

So Paris (Maroon) used to be called Sepia Brown for long time. The ink however didn’t look like sepia so the changes were made. So to sum things up the ink can be found in different De Atramentis series as:

  1. Maroon – Standard inks
  2. Sepia Brown – old stocks of Maroon from Standard series
  3. Paris in places inks
  4. Beethoven in Famous Composers series

To be honest I don’t like the color but my cryticism ends here. Paris is excellent ink.

It’s rather wet, defionitely wetter than Waterman inks and it provides superb flow in all pens I’ve filled with it. It has some water resistance – after exposure to water the reddish color will be gone but the text will remain on the page. It’ll be black then. Apart from great flow, the ink lubricates nicely the nib so the writing is smooth. The thing that I find most enjoyable about this ink though is something else. You may leave the pen uncapped for half an hour and once you come back, it’ll start to write wiyhout any skipping. I’ve done it accidentally with lamy Al-Star (fine nib) filled with Paris. After an hour long meeting I came back to my room, noticed I left the pen uncapped and expected I would need to flush it, but, to my surprise the pen simply started to write. For this Paris scores 10 out of 10 on my scale. I won’t buy a bottle because I’m not that keen on the color. Apart from that it’s excellent ink.

Mmg122 – thank you for sending me sample of this ink.

Ink splash

paris_da_1

Ink on kitchen towel

paris_da_rk

Software ID

paris_l_3

Tomoe River, kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

paris_t_1

paris_t_2

paris_t_3

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, broad nib

paris_l_1

paris_l_2

paris_l_4

Lyreco budget 60 mgsm, Lamy Al-Star, fine nib

paris_da_lyreco_2

Copy paper, Lamy Al-Star, medium nib

paris_1

paris_2

Water resistance

paris_da_h2o

 

 

3 thoughts on “Paris (Maroon) – De Atramentis Places ink

  1. I have to say, I quite like this colour: it’s like burgundy with black or dark grey added to it.

    I like DA inks, they seem and even feel high quality. They aren’t cheap, but there are far more expensive inks that are quite ordinary. DA Pigeon Blue, Plum, and Ebony are the bottles I own, and I like them very much. I also have a bottle of Ferdinand v.Zeppelin. It is standard Atlantic Blue, but I’m a Zeppelin geek so I had to have one.

    I agree the bottles are very practical, solid on the table and an angle on the bottom inside to help get the last drops out.

    Like

    • Well, I have mixed feelings about DA inks. Some are great, some suck, some are in the middle 🙂 As for this one – it’s great ink but I dislike the color.

      Like

  2. Pingback: London – De Atramentis Places series | Wondernaut in the world of stationery wonders

Leave a Reply

