Dragon’s Napalm – Noodler’s

Noodler’s is one of the companies that don’t need any introductions. Nathan Tardiff is a legend and his work is well known by fountain pen and ink afficionados. Not everyone is crazy about Noodler’s inks but I enjoy most of the ones I’ve tried so far.

Dragon Napalm is one of the inks with greatest names ever (first place goes im my ranking to J. Herbin’s Poussiere de Lune). When it comes to ink it’s quite peculiar. Retailers classify it as orange but if it’s orange it’s one of the strangest oranges I’ve ever seen. It leans strongly toward pink but it’s not pink. To my eyes it’s not orange either. It’s something strange and unspoken in between. Sure thing is it’s not the kind of color you would expect a Lawyer to use in his everyday work – it’s bold, saturated and vibrant.
Also the sample I’ve received contains some kind of “metallic” chunks I’m not able to identify. They’re visible on Ink Splash.
The ink behaves wellon good quality papers, on cheaper ones it can cause moderate geathering and show-through. Drying times are rather reasonable – 3 -10 seconds depending on the pen / nib / paper you use.
There’s now such issues on good papers (Rhodia, Clairefontaine, Leuchtturm1917, even on Lyreco Budget 60 mgsm which is surprisingly nice paper).
Ink Splash
dragonsnapalm_is

Software ID

dragonnapalm_l_3

Tomoe River, Kaweco Classic Sport, Broad nib

dragonnapalm_t_1

dragonnapalm_t_2

dragonnapalm_t_3

Leuchtturm 1917, Kaweco Classic Sport, Broad nib

dragonnapalm_l_1

dragonnapalm_l_2

dragonnapalm_l_4

Oxford, Hero 5028, stub 1,9

dragonsnapalm_ox

2 thoughts on “Dragon’s Napalm – Noodler’s

  1. What a strange colour! I wouldn’t use it, but it’s certainly different. Noodlers certainly make some unique inks, don’t they? Have you tried Air Corps Blue-Black? If not, I can send you a vial to try.

    By the way, I’m really enjoying the Allrounder I got from you. I wanted it more for the collection, but I enjoy writing with it.

    Like

  2. Ah, so it’s you 🙂 I’ve tried Air Corps Blue-Black but didn’t really enjoy it 🙂 And I do agree that Noodler’s has quite a lot of unique looking inks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

